: 0

 History of the Award

The Curé of Ars Award, established by Christ the King Seminary's Board of Trustees in 1985, honors individuals whose lives reflect the qualities of Christian dedication and service that marked the life of St. John Vianney.

St. John Vianney was a parish priest of Ars, France, who in 1929 was named by Pope Pius XI as the patron of parish priests — that they might emulate the compassion and self-giving of this simple man.

This award is presented annually to persons and organizations whose qualities include a particular attention to healing those in need of God's reconciling love, a willingness to contribute their gifts towards pastoral care — especially for the needy and poor — and a commitment to the Church as a primary instrument for the divine-human encounter. 

Previous Honorees:

1985       Most Rev. Edward D. Head, D.D.

1986       Mrs. Joseph F. Klausman

1987       Most Rev. Bernard J. McLaughlin, D.D.

1988       His Eminence John Cardinal O'Connor

1989       Rev. Msgr. John J. Conniff

1990       Very Rev. James M. Demske, S.J.

               Rev. Msgr. Paul R. Juenker

1991       Rev. Msgr. Eugene H. Selbert

               Most Rev. Donald W. Trautman

1992       Rev. Msgr. Leo E. Hammerl

               Rev. Msgr. Dino J. Lorenzetti

1993       Sister Angela Bontempo, D.C.

               Most Rev. Stanislaus J. Brzana

1994       Rev. Msgr. John Lodge McHugh

               Dr. & Mrs. Arthur J. Schaefer

1995       Mr. & Mrs. Norman Dusel

               Rev. Msgr. Raymond F. Paa

1996       Mr. William J. Lawley

               Rev. Msgr. Robert C. Wurtz

1997       Dr. Donald L. Hayes

               Rev. Msgr. Rupert A. Wright

1998       Sister M. Tiburtia Gorecki, F.S.S.J.

               Mr. Paul W. Joy

               Rev. Msgr. William J. McDonnell

1999       Miss Joyce E. Fink

2000       Rev. Msgr. Richard T. Nugent

               Sister Denise A. Roche, G.N.S.H., Ph.D.

2001       Rev. Msgr. Angelo M. Caligiuri

               Mr. Joseph J. Castiglia


2002       Mr. & Mrs. William E. Swan

               Rev. Msgr. Francis G. Weldgen

2003       Rev. Msgr. John W. Zeitler

               Mr. & Mrs. James V. Glynn

2004       Rev. Msgr. W. Jerome Sullivan, J.C.D.

               Sister M. Johnice Rzadkiewicz, C.S.S.F.

2005       Most Rev. Henry J. Mansell

               Mrs. Karen E. Penfold

2006       Rev. Joseph L. Levesque, C.M.

               Mr. Eugene P. Vukelic

2007       Most Rev. Edward U. Kmiec, D.D.

               Mrs. Ellen E. Koessler

2008       Most Rev. Robert J. Cunningham

               Mr. & Mrs. James O'Brien

2009       Most Rev. Timothy M. Dolan, D.D.

               The Galasso Foundation

2010       Women Religious of Western New York

2011       Most Rev. Edward M. Grosz

               The Vincent & Harriet Palisano Foundation

2012       Rev. Msgr. Frederick D. Leising

               The Amico, Arena, and Ervolina Families

2013       Rev. Msgr. J. Patrick Keleher

               James H. Grubka

2014       Frank and Margaret Zagrobelny

2015       Rev. Msgr. Thomas F. Maloney

               The Diaconate Community of The Diocese of Buffalo

2016       Rev. Peter Drilling

               Rev. Gregory Faulhaber

               Mrs. Kathleen Heffern

2017       Rev. Msgr. Leo F. McCarthy

2018       Rev. Gregory J. Dobson

               Joseph A. Stoeckl